WDC Commemorates Suffrage 125

Waikato District Council joined other groups and organisations around the country in commemorating 125 years since women succeeded in obtaining the vote.

A special breakfast was held at Council which was followed by presentations from guest speakers:

• Tipa Mahuta (Waikato Regional Council deputy chair),

• Parekawhia McLean (chair of Waikato-Tainui’s parliament Te Whakakitenga o Waikato),

• Janet Gibb (Waikato District Councillor and Business and Professional Women New Zealand vice president)

• and Crystal Beavis (Waikato District Health Board member).

The event was organised by a group of staff led by Cr Janet Gibb.