The Kudos Awards 2018 Finalists Announced

Finalists in Hamilton and Waikato’s prestigious regional science excellence awards “The Kudos Awards” have been announced.

The Kudos Awards recognise and celebrate the region’s scientists, their innovative research and ground-breaking discoveries.

Winners in eight science categories will be announced at the black tie gala dinner on Thursday 27th September.

Hosted by local favourite Te Radar and featuring the Prime Minister’s new Chief Science Adviser Professor Juliet Gerrard as guest speaker, this is the region’s annual science celebration.

Waikato’s science and technology sector is thriving and boasts the highest proportion of scientists and technicians in New Zealand.

They are major contributors to the region and country’s economy, leading the way in agricultural, medical and environmental science.

Scientists, educators, lab technicians and engineers from some of the region’s science powerhouses will be represented this year including:

  • the University of Waikato
  • Fonterra
  • Plant & Food Research
  • LIC
  • NIWA
  • Landcare Research
  • Waikato DHB.


Hamilton City Council Emerging Scientist

  • Dr Richard Bulmer, NIWA
  • Dr Brendan Gill, Fonterra

WINTEC Secondary Science Teacher/Educator Award

  • Andrea Soanes, University of Waikato
  • Jared Carpendale, Hamilton Boys High School

Hill Laboratories Laboratory Technician Award

  • Sarah Hailes, NIWA
  • Kathleen Dabell, University of Waikato
  • Brett Nichol, University of Waikato

Simcro Engineering Science Award

  • Dr Aydin Berenjian & Dr Mostafa Seifan, University of Waikato
  • Dr James K. Carson, University of Waikato

Kudos Science Trust Agricultural Science Award

  • LIC Space Team, LIC
  • Ruakura Plant Pathology Team, Plant & Food Research

Waikato Regional Council Environmental Science Award

  • Te Kuwaha o Taihoro Nukurangi (National Centre of Maori Environmental Research) NIWA
  • Dr Corrine Watts, Landcare Research

Waikato DHB Medical Science Award

  • Dr Tim Edwards, University of Waikato
  • Dr Jonni Koia, University of Waikato
  • Dr Michael Kaplan, Waikato

DHB University of Waikato Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Announced at the Kudos Awards Gala Dinner

The Kudos Awards Gala Dinner is open to the public and aims to profile the success of science in the region, and attract more students to science career paths. Tickets can be purchased at:

For more information visit: Soteria Ieremia-Jones, Project Manager, The Kudos Science Trust, 027 282 5571,