Submissions Open For Proposed Waikato District Plan

Waikato District Council’s Proposed Waikato District Plan has been notified and the community can now make a submission. The Proposed Waikato District Plan (Stage 1) establishes the guidelines for future growth and development, including rules for protecting the district’s environment and heritage.

Waikato District Mayor Allan Sanson says the Plan will help Council achieve its vision of creating:

  • liveable
  • thriving
  • and connected communities.

Waikato District Council Chief Executive Gavin Ion says the District Plan is an important document for Council as it outlines for the community how the district’s land can be used, developed and subdivided.

Reviewing the District Plan has been a long process which has involved numerous opportunities for the community to have their say, but the formal process of submissions is now open.

Key changes between the current Operative Plan and the Proposed Plan include:

  • The adding of around 60 heritage sites and buildings, along with 16 notable trees to their respective lists. The rules have been amended to provide for ongoing maintenance and care or repair.
  • A consistent residential zone and redeveloped village zone, along with three business zones. Additional residential zone areas have also been created in Tuakau, Pokeno, Te Kowhai, Taupiri, Ngaruawahia and Horotiu to allow for growth, along with an additional industrial zoned area in Huntly.
  • Under the Taangata Whenua chapter, flexible provisions have been created that give more options for those with Maaori Freehold Land.

All landowners will have received a letter about the Proposed Waikato District Plan that either details the proposed changes to their property or prompts them to view the Plan to see if they would like to make a submission. Community drop-in sessions will be held in September throughout the district.

If you would like advice on how to make a submission, make an appointment with an independent external expert by phoning 0800 492 452. Sessions with the expert are 30 minutes only and will take place at our drop-in sessions to be held throughout the district.

These sessions will be held in the following places:

  • Tamahere Community Centre Monday 3 and Tuesday 4 September, 11am-7pm
  • Te Kauwhata Bowling Club Monday 10 and Tuesday 11 September, 11am-7pm
  • Raglan Town Hall Wednesday 12 and Thursday 13 September, 11am-7pm
  • Te Kowhai Hall Monday 17 and Tuesday 18 September, 11am-7pm
  • Whangarata Hall, Pokeno Wednesday 19 September, 11.30am-7.30pm
  • Pokeno Town Hall Thursday 20 September, 11.30am-7.30pm
  • Tuakau Town Hall Monday 24 and Tuesday 25 September, 11.30am-7.30pm

Lots of information on the Plan and its supporting documents can be found on our website, This is also where you can make a submission. The submission period will close at 5pm on Tuesday 9 October, 2018.